What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

e-mail advertisements

on January 2, 2014

Today I unsubscribed from e-mail ads.

(I wanted to sign out of amazon.com before I took this screenshot. Has anyone else remarked how un-intuitive it is? You have to navigate to the link from “help” … which does make a scary kind of sense.)

You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

Dear Hugeous Department Store in the Cloud,

You think you know me, but you don’t. Just because you’ve seen me around town on a bike, or carrying a camera, or reading a book in a coffee shop, doesn’t mean you have a clue about why I ride, nor what taking pictures does for me, nor what I might read next. It doesn’t mean I’ll reward your blandishments with my attention. I don’t remember opting-in anyway … did you go through my trash, find the imprint of my signature on some napkin, and fake it? Stop stalking me. Stop it RIGHT NOW. I mean it.

Dear Big Box Home Improvement Warehouse,

Since Nimue and I are trying to spend hours a day remodeling our house, I’m  glad you’re our neighbor. I’m grateful you’re willing to lend us your strength with tools and supplies (okay, for a price) and advice. I just need for you to be the strong, silent type. Thanks, big guy.

Dear Outdoors Outfitter who happens to be the World’s Biggest Membership Cooperative,

I will always love you. You’ve been there for me when I took risks, supporting my adventures. You committed to our relationship for life, and I respect that. It’s just that, right now, I need some space. And I’m glad I can trust you to understand that. Don’t worry, we’ll walk in the sun together again. Thank you.

shedding style: refuse, release

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

3 responses to “e-mail advertisements

  1. Love the concept behind your blog and am now happily following it for future shedding ideas. You might like http://unroll.me to help you with shedding more emails–it has CHANGED MY LIFE! Not unlike Post-It notes. (Though they create items to shed, hmmmn, note to self: Abandon Post-Its).

Leave a Reply

