What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

mop sponge

on January 21, 2014

“Are your tools clean and sharp?” I like to ask myself before I begin a job. When I answer “Er, no,” it might be time for a shed.

Nimue and I reached a remodeling milestone today: we opened a gallon of paint and rolled it on the ceiling in the sitting room. We’ve been prepping surfaces in there for weeks, and we were eager to get to it. But the step of a final cleaning remained before we could apply paint.

The mop I found behind the door of the laundry room looked awful. My garage mop was worse … it didn’t have a head. So when the sun’s first rays touched me this morning, I was crossing the parking lot at the Kroger grocery store.

off with the old, on with the new

off with the old, on with the new

The old mop sponge, alas, had to go in the garbage pail. But even the mundane task of mopping the ceiling (okay, maybe mopping ceilings isn’t something most of us do everyday) was enjoyable with a clean mop refill.

shedding styles: replace, throw away
destination: landfill

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

Leave a Reply

