What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

rusty paint tray and roller frames

on January 23, 2014

Nimue and I are painting our sitting room and its closet. The project hasn’t quite bid fair to take over our lives, but I did dream in paint last night.

With our hands pressed down on the hot stove of present experience, it became clear we needed to assess the usefulness of each piece of painting equipment I’ve acquired, back to my graduate school days when I earned my bread working in “the trades.” We decided to keep paintbrushes I bought almost 30 years ago that have a couple hundred hours apiece of accumulated use. Back then a good brush cost three hours of my billed work. I took exquisitely good care of them, and still do. On the other hand, I’ve salvaged some just plain junk from the basements and garages of houses we’ve moved into and out of. Those items, we shed.

rusty paint tray and roller frames little better … why don't people clean this stuff up before the paint dries?

rusty paint tray and roller frames little better … why don’t people clean this stuff up before the paint dries?

“We’re not risking perfectly good paint in that old paint tray,” we decided, not unless iron oxide is one of its pigments. It’s steel, so it can be recycled. And how many nine-inch roller frames do two painters need? Certainly not three. I’ll hand a couple off at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore.

shedding styles: recycle, give away
destination: community recycling stream, thrift store

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

Leave a Reply

