What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

rival model bb-40a baseboard heater repair

on January 30, 2014

I felt ambivalent claiming this as my daily shed, because nothing left the house. Though I’m glad to dismiss non-tangible mental and spiritual clutter like advertising e-mails and negative attitudes, the rules of the game seem to say: if it’s a material object getting shed, it’s got to go away. Or at least get queued up for departure.

But Nimue reminded me that William Morris enjoined, “Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” “It wasn’t useful, and now it is,” she said. “Isn’t that a weight lifted?” As so often, she’s right.

The heater stopped working years ago with a flash and curl of smoke. I planned to take it apart so I could at least recycle the steel housing, but realized all it needed was a connection cleaned up and restored.

"Just a moment, I'll grab my soldering iron!"

“Just a moment, I’ll grab my soldering iron!”

I’ll never call it beautiful, but the heater will comfort us while remodeling the sitting room if the polar vortex shoves another frigid lump of arctic air into the southeastern US.

electric fire!

electric fire!

shedding style: repair

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

Leave a Reply

