What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

broken bird house

on February 6, 2014

Ever since Nimue helped me see that restoring usefulness by repairing what’s broken sheds something as surely as sending it away, I’ve been eyeing the wheelbarrow I’d borrowed from church on a long-term loan. When I wanted to use it a couple weeks ago, the tire was flat. Strokes of my pump yielded a tell-tale hiss of escaping air.

I decided to defer the yard work that day, but not for fear of fixing a flat. I’ve repaired an embarrassing number of them on our bicycles—enough to suggest either we regularly ride in an urban jungle or I consistently over-inflate. Anyway … I have tire spoons and I know how to use them.

Blueberry and Muffin offer experienced assistance.

Blueberry and Muffin offer experienced assistance.

Indeed, more than one set of spoons, and for this job I got out the steel. I’d never begin with them for a bicycle tire, but they’re useful to have in reserve. They handle tight rim-tire combinations that break plastic spoons.

After just a little prying the bead off the rim, I saw the problem: a slit that reached a third of the way around the tube’s circumference. No patch would allow that tube to hold air again. Huh, someone must’ve over-inflated it. (Oops.)

I also saw … slime! Yuch! I loathe slime. It gets put in tubes in the hope it will stop “micro-leaks.” What is that but a baby that will grow into a monster? Slime does dubious good, and makes a miserable mess when a tube eviscerates.

Slime belongs on a b-movie set, not in an inner tube. Or on my hands. Or my cat.

Slime belongs on a b-movie set, not in an inner tube. Or on my hands. Or my cat.

So I can’t complete the wheelbarrow repair till I can buy a new tube at Tractor Supply Company tomorrow. And thus I found myself out of daylight, wondering what else I could shed. Then I remembered the birdhouse, a Christmas gift from our nieces four years ago.

57% effective bird house

57% effective bird house

At least three broods of songbirds have fledged from the cheerful little box. But the light wood hasn’t weathered well; my last attempt at repair just split the sides. I’m grateful for its contribution to life and wonder in the world, but it’s time to turn it, ah, under. The bird house will get an honorable burial in our hugelkultur experiment.

shedding style: compost
destination: compost pile

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

5 responses to “broken bird house

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Awww, poor birdies! Not much shelter there ;-) good you got rid off it, I’m sure it generated nothing but confusion for the birds ;-)

  2. […] box and its mate (subject of a previous daily shed) were Christmas gifts from our crafty nieces. During the first spring they were hung, we watched at […]

Leave a Reply

