What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

tired tire retired

on February 19, 2014

For over a decade spanning my late young-adulthood and early middle age, I had the “Mercedes bends.” My good memories involve a succession of diesel models. We could purchase one used without taking out a loan, spend a couple days repairing whatever ailed it, and then, with no more care than changing the oil and filter on schedule, drive it for tens of thousands of miles. Two of our sedans rolled more than a quarter-million.

My nightmares feature gasoline-powered “classics” I bought in advanced states of decline with dreams of restoring them to glory: the Mariemobile, Werner von Braun, the Grenz—oh, the pressing weight descends! (Deep breaths, keep taking deep breaths.…)

I probably have a month’s worth of sheds to unload all the stuff I’ve got that’s stamped with the three-pointed star. As, for instance, an extra set of vintage “Bundt” alloy wheels. One wheel still had a tire mounted. I left that at the local auto service center today. I’ll pay the dismount charge and our state’s tire disposal fee and consider it well-spent. One more large object I don’t need is gone.

shedding style: recycle
destination: recycling stream

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?


Leave a comment