What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

100% creative control

on February 23, 2014

They said we’d be artistically free
when we signed that bit of paper
They meant let’s make a lotsa money
and worry about it later

—the Clash, “Complete Control”

In WordPress-speak, I “own” What I shed today. (Nimue and I’ve taken to calling it WIST for short.) Every day since 31 December 2013, I’ve decided on the content, drafted and revised the posts, taken and post-processed the photos, put them together and hit the “publish” button. (And appreciated the replies of commenters! Thanks, y’all!)

What I absolutely haven’t done all by myself is the lightening up What I shed today is about. Nimue, partner in nearly everything else in my life, has been a willing and even gleeful co-shedder. And we do it as greenly as we do only because of recycling infrastructure and systems built and tended by many others. Thanks also go to WordPress.com, which provides these virtual publishing tools and hosting for free.

This week, WIST becomes even more a collaborative project. I’m off to a continuing education event, and Nimue has accepted title to the blog while I’m away. Mick and Joe had good reason for fighting to keep creative control, but I’m glad I can shed it! And happy that gratitude is a movement of the spirit I may give freely and still keep.

I've got a ticket to ride....

I’ve got a ticket to ride….

shedding style: release

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

Leave a Reply

