What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

my Lenten discipline: carbon fast

on March 4, 2014

Some who decide to observe Lent, the Christian season of preparation for Easter, recall that it is traditionally a “fast,” a period of eating less or less richly. They give something up for these 40 days. Ideally the point isn’t mere self-denial but a sharpening of attention upon the holy, humbly or gloriously as it manifests. Others, seeking the spirit within the letter, chose to take something on. Again, ideally the point isn’t mere self-improvement but an enlarging of the scope of the holy in ordinary life.

Some try to do a bit of both. That’s my choice this year. I’ve signed up for the Annual Ecumenical Lenten Carbon Fast. Every day from Ash Wednesday, 5 March 2014, to Easter Sunday, 20 April 2014, I’ll receive an e-mail suggesting an action to reduce my carbon footprint. Some, I expect, will ask me to give something up; others will invite taking something on. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do them all, but I welcome new ideas and a collaborative challenge. Good green living isn’t about guilt but empowered hope!

Want to say what you feel called to shed or gain for Lent? Comments welcome!

Leave a Reply

