What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

veggie broth bag

on March 6, 2014

Years ago I learned from Anna Thomas, author of The Vegetarian Epicure, to make my own base for soups. She offers a recipe for “potato peel broth,” but we mostly eat potatoes with the skins still on, so I call the bulging gallon-sized lumps I compile in the freezer “broth bags.” They collect all our onion skins, garlic peels, the ends of turnips and carrots, collard ribs, cabbage cores, and everything else of vegetative origin that’s too coarse for the table but holds flavor that a few hours of simmering can extract.

Tomorrow I might at last make that roasted winter vegetable soup....

Tomorrow I might at last make that roasted winter vegetable soup….

I’m slowly recovering from strand-to-strand combat with a rhinovirus, but I am so tired tonight … I need another easy shed. So in the casuistry I sometimes practice to keep the What I shed today project moving forward, I’m claiming the boiling of the contents of a broth bag as today’s small step toward simplicity. (Hey, I had two in the freezer, and I only need one.) Once I strain off the fragrant liquid, the trimmings will crown our food-waste compost pile.

shedding styles: use up, compost
destinations: soup, compost pile

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

6 responses to “veggie broth bag

  1. I have a box of veggie waste in our freezer too! I make crockpot broth out of it.

  2. […] brief, I can hardly move at the moment. So tonight I’m recycling a previous shed; I’ve pulled a veggie broth bag from the freezer and emptied it into the slow […]

  3. Mom says:

    I never understand why so many people say they don’t like soup. (Parents, teach your children to eat this wonderful food! One day you won’t feel like cooking!) Remind me to give you my mother’s recipe for Cream of Potato Soup.

Leave a Reply

