What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

folding aluminum web lawn chairs

on March 15, 2014

My plan to work down through the pile in the wheelbarrow brought me today to our four folding lawn chairs. These are the pure classics made by Sunbeam. I grew up sitting on chairs just like them in my grandparents’ back yard or at picnics—every family had a few. They were light enough to carry for two miles when we arrived late to the Fourth of July fireworks display and had to leave the station wagon by the side of the road far from the entry to the county park. And since the aluminum frames and plastic web were practically impervious to the elements, they could be left out on an Indiana summer night (though I hoped Dad didn’t notice; he had naval standards about battening down at dark).

all we need now is a campfire ... and skewers ... and marshmallows ... and girl or boy scouts ...

all we need now is a campfire … and skewers … and marshmallows … and girl or boy scouts …

Ah, I’ve made myself nostalgic and have half-talked myself into keeping them. But no, we’ve moved them from house to house for 20 years and have hardly used them. I’m not sure why, but occasionally some things that could be, should be useful just don’t personally fit. I’ll post them to craiglist and hope their good design and retro style will give some lover of vintage goods the warm fuzzies.

shedding style: resell
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … what might you shed today?

9 responses to “folding aluminum web lawn chairs

  1. Mark says:

    Oh wow–classics indeed! They’re the same chairs that were in my grandparents’ backyard too!

  2. Marc says:

    Ah this brings me back to the good ol’ days of throwing Jarts in my grandparents’ backyard. Any chance you still have these? I know it’s been a while since your post but I would love to relive those days. Thanks!

    • revdarkwater says:

      Sorry, they’re gone. We gave them to an organization that collects and provides camping gear to a homeless community in western North Carolina. I hope you can find others!

Leave a Reply

