What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

sage green pants

on April 8, 2014

Several years ago, mail-order clothing retailer Lands’ End discontinued some colors through their line and offered the remaining stock on sale. It happened when I needed new pants. I loved the name of the color they called “Sage”; would I, I fantasized, wearing them, connect with an earthy wisdom? Perhaps, or perhaps not, but they were on sale! I thought, too, that occasionally throwing some contrast into my uniform of clerical black might be stimulating … and did I mention the “Sage” trousers were deeply discounted? I bought a pair.

I’m glad I resisted the temptation to save myself even more money by purchasing two. Every time I’ve pulled them on, I’ve felt faintly ridiculous, as if I should also don a big plastic flower and dispense ice cream treats to passers-by. I don’t know why. Surely someone else could carry off the color. I hope he shops at the local thrift store, because that’s where I’ll send today’s shed.

Do I have a second career ahead as a product photographer? Likely not.

Do I have a second career ahead as a product photographer? Likely not.

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … what’s in your closet or drawers that it’s time to admit is just not your color?

Leave a Reply

