What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

another bottle opener

on April 12, 2014

It isn’t much, but I need a modest yet tangible shed tonight. In the middle of 40 miles on the tandem today, Nimue and I stopped at our favorite coffee shop in a small town we ride to frequently. She pulled a Blenheim’s Ginger Ale out of the cooler. However, the store’s sole bottle opener had disappeared, and the hook on the crank-handle can opener offered as a substitute couldn’t grab a point on the crown cap. We all tried, customers and staff, to uncap the bottle but failed. At last, to general celebration, one stubborn soul managed to pry it loose, and Nimue enjoyed her drink.

I joked that I had an extra church key at home in the garage I’d be glad to give them so future customers wouldn’t have to break their teeth gnawing into the soft drink bottles. A few miles along, I thought: why not? One is all I need, and I have that already in a kitchen drawer. The next time I pass close by, I’ll leave a bottle opener at the Jittery Joe’s.

Archimedes said, "Give me a lever and a place to stand, and I will move the world." But I just want into a bottle!

Archimedes said, “Give me a lever and a place to stand, and I will move the world.” But I just want into a bottle!

shedding style: give away
destination: coffee shop

Comments welcome … does your “local” need anything you might share?

Leave a Reply

