What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

more old seed packets

on April 16, 2014

Oh dear, I found more packets of old seeds I missed in my first pass through the Evergreen Community Garden seed stores.

These are reminding me I do want to grow winter squash this year.

These are reminding me I do want to grow winter squash this year.

“To Seeds, ‘Packed for 1997,’ Anno Domini 2014″

I doubt
you’ll sprout,
so out
you go.
But know
it’s so
you’ll fall
where all
at call
as soil
shall toil,
and foil
the end.
Again,
begin!

shedding styles: compost, recycle (for the paper envelopes)
destination: compost pile, community recycling stream

Comments welcome … might you give something dead back to earth for life?

2 responses to “more old seed packets

  1. I know this feeling so well!

  2. revdarkwater says:

    At home I mangae fairly good storage practices and may germinate seeds from a packet for three or more years. Still, it often seems they come with too many. Sharing helps solve this “problem” of abundance, of course! Perhaps we need “little free seed banks” modeled on the Little Free Libraries: http://littlefreelibrary.org/

Leave a Reply

