What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

insulated lunch bag

on April 22, 2014

Happy Earth Day 2014, y’all! In its spirit, I remind myself to make sure every day is “earthed.” Interesting that lightening up actually serves to ground me. So onto to today’s shed:

As a benefit for joining an organization, I recently received a lunch bag. It’s kinda nice … has a silvery insulated liner that recalls the space survival blankets Edmund Scientific sold when I was a kid, and a velcro-closure pocket big enough for—I don’t want to say “pack of Lucky Strikes”—er, deck of cards.

We kept it awhile, because it seemed it ought to be useful. Yesterday, while I was packing a meal to take on a tandem ride, Nimue retrieved it from our picnic kit. I opened it as wide as it would go, but it would swallow only one portion of pseudo-lasagna cassarole. That wouldn’t do; we took our old REI lunch ice box instead.

So it seems we already had a lunch container that better meets our needs. The red lunch bag shall be shed, that someone else may warm or coolly be fed!

I really do wonder what the designers intended one should put in that pocket.

I really do wonder what the designers intended one should put in that front pocket.

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … what “might be useful” items have you keep that could receive their trial?

4 responses to “insulated lunch bag

  1. I kinda like it, useless pocket and all. Sure you don’t want to keep it?

  2. mom says:

    I have one almost like it. I was going to give it to you for bike rides….has little pocket for keys.

Leave a Reply

