What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

refrigerator recipes

on April 25, 2014

Some months ago, Nimue and I committed to a semi-annual refrigerator deep cleaning and purge. To hold ourselves to it, we entered it as a repeating event on our joint Google calendar. The next such occasion falls Saturday week. (“Saturday week,” should that puzzle you, is a British expression, also current in the southern US, that means “the Saturday following next Saturday.”) Look, on that auspicious day, for us to shed the vintage oil-cured olives and last autumn’s green tomato pickles by eating them, if they’re palatable.

But back to today’s shed—refrigerators collect magnets, and refrigerator magnets collect items under them. Ours have affinities for coupons (frequently expired), notices from our city-county government, and recipes. I decided that, with the purge of the refrigerator’s contents coming up, this was a good time to cull the paper coating the fridge’s skin.

Fortuitously, I made the winter-squash and white bean stew this week. Though I agree with my mother (who passed the recipe along) that it was quite good, I’d stew something new before I tried it again. The one for panini-grill-cooked oatcakes we developed by trial-and-error has become something of a standard, so I’ll transfer it to a 3×5 card. And probably affix it to the refrigerator with a magnet (sigh) … otherwise I don’t know how we’d find it in a future still wanting a considerable amount of decluttering with attendant creation of orderly systems.

20140425-dlj-IMG_1642-e

shedding style: recycle
destination: recycle bin

Comments welcome … is your refrigerator a-flutter with information that might better be kept somewhere else?

3 responses to “refrigerator recipes

  1. Anne Lene says:

    I got rid off all but one of my fridge magnets, years ago. All they do is help clutter up the space. The one I kept? Is a pretty butterfly, that cheers me up, and isn’t strong enough to hold anything else but itself ;-)

  2. revdarkwater says:

    I’m sure you’re right, better to not invite trouble! Maybe we’ll try for the clean look someday (smile).

  3. […] I culled the recipes off the fridge, Nimue remembered a refrigerator magnet set we received some years ago. At first we amused […]

Leave a Reply

