What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

wicking t-shirts

on April 29, 2014

The Lady Nimue never perspires; she may occasionally be seen to glow, having made friends with her inner athlete. I, however, sweat. I excel at sweating. I’d embarrass myself sweating, but then I might as well regret breathing.

Thus, wicking or “moisture transport” clothing is useful to us. I remember my first experimental purchases, wondering: will this actually work? Or is it just another fitness fad? My results were good: I ran or hiked without feeling quite so much like I’d just emerged from a pool. So I acquired more. When Nimue started walking miles a day, we got her wicking wear as well. Then some ride directors (whose drawers are overflowing with cotton tees, too) thoughtfully started specifying wicking fabrics for the shirts for their events. And suddenly we had too much of a good thing.

I find them hard to let go of, though. I stood in my closet this evening looking at ten or so wicking tees, thinking, “But this one’s particularly good on freakishly hot rides, and that one layers well under a wool jersey in winter, and these match what Nimue’s keeping.” (As tandem riders, we occasionally yield to the temptation to dress like twins.)

Here, however, are two for the give-away box, one from each of us. Sometimes the first shed is the hardest, they say. A journey of a thousand relinquishments begins with a single shed. And supposedly Eleanor Roosevelt counseled, “A little simplification would be the first shed toward rational living, I think.” I do, too.

Something wicking this way comes.

Something wicking this way comes.

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … what kinds of things  are strangely hard for you to let go of?

Leave a Reply

