What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

take-out coffee cup lids

on May 11, 2014

This one feels lame, but it’s been a long day. I remind myself that the project is to try to shed something every day, not to shed a lot. So, I looked about and found two coffee cup lids on a kitchen counter.

I’m embarrassed I ever accepted their necessity. Echo, the tandemobile, and my bicycle rack trunk all need refillable cups/mugs, I see: that will stop that consumption.

I put the lids in the recycling bin. It’s something.

shedding style: recycle
destination: community recycling stream

Comments welcome … how small can a success get before it’s no longer a success?

7 responses to “take-out coffee cup lids

  1. It doesn’t need to be big to be important… and it’s made you think about the refillable cups.

  2. Mark says:

    Yup–for me, when I have one of those “little” days, I have to remind myself its about the practice of being attentive, not necessarily the scale of what I “accomplish.”

    • revdarkwater says:

      Yes! My mildly-depressed thinking yesterday made those two lids “insignificant.” Today my better-balanced thinking sees that the practice is very significant. Same action, different frame. I’m grateful for the nudges from friends that got me there.

  3. Anne Lene says:

    Doesn’t need to be big, one out everyday is better than nothing out-the-door ;-)

Leave a Reply

