What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

years

on May 15, 2014

I got my hair cut today. It had grown ridiculously long again. I don’t know why it does that. And I put off getting it cut. I don’t know why I do that, either. But I have a wedding ceremony at my favorite winery this weekend, so I want to look grown-up.

I rode to the salon. It’s “National Bike to Work, School, and Fun Week.” Might as well throw “to haircut” in there, too.

After the beautician finished, she observed that I have a grey streak on one side of the back of my head. (It matches one in front.) She even handed me a mirror so I could see it. “It’s cool,” she said. I didn’t tell her, but someone once seriously asked me how my hairdresser individually dyed each hair that color. “Her name is ‘Years,'” I said.

20131223-aep-DSC_7527-e2

Brewser the Cruiser, decorated for the holidays last December

She isn’t an unwelcome acquaintance. She’s brought me more than grey hairs. But I know how to shed years when that’s what my heart needs. I just swing a leg over my bike, push off, and ride. The wind we make, bike and I, whisks them away.

Posted from WordPress for Android

shedding style: release

Comments welcome … what restores your youth?

2 responses to “years

  1. Mark says:

    Nice one. Thanks for sharing, in this post and others, the place that cycling has in your life as a “center” or “practice” of sorts.

Leave a Reply

