What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

bicycle & cycling papers

on May 18, 2014

Ever since she consented to cycling with me, I’ve wanted to introduce Nimue to the Silver Comet Trail. (The SCT is an abandoned railway converted to a multi-use path; it runs from northwest metro Atlanta to the Alabama border.) I have a meeting in Smyrna tomorrow evening, and it’s worked out that we can spend the day riding. So tonight I thought I’d look for my old Silver Comet Trail map. I hoped I’d find it in the box I’ve been using to confine bicycle-related paper. I hoped as well that it would yield up material for today’s shed.

Fox with the box

Fox with the box

Like an archaeologist, I dug down through strata of user’s manuals, receipts, cue sheets, maps, and catalogs. Sure enough, near the bottom of the box, I reached the SCT Trail Map and Directory printed in 2003 by Trail Express. The list of services is out-of-date, but the mileages between trailheads hasn’t changed.

As anticipated, the excavation also produced a modest pile for the recycling bin … once Percy can be persuaded to give it up.

Percy on what's shed-worthy

Percy on what’s shed-worthy

shedding style: recycling
destination: community recycling stream

Comments welcome … do you have one of those boxes in which you’ve saved everything?

Leave a Reply

