What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

decomposing wood deployed 2

on May 21, 2014

Running to catch up (pant, pant) … I need an easy shed. But I honestly feel it counts: I completed the first terrace of our street-side vegetable garden, and moved enough rotting wood to edge the second.

That bed is a thing of beauty to me. I could lie down and sleep in it ... nah, I think I'll plant onions.

That bed is a thing of beauty to me. I could lie down and sleep in it … nah, I think I’ll plant onions.

As I placed one chunk, I noticed that an inhabitant had emerged in distress at the disturbance of its home: the largest southern unstriped scorpion (Vaejovis carolinianus) I’ve ever seen. I’m sorry that, in the fading light, I wasn’t able to get a photo. They’re also called “little brown scorpions” and rarely grow longer than two inches—this one was about that. Their string is briefly painful, but dangerous only to rare individuals who have an allergic reaction. I apologized for the inconvenience and invited the scorpion to become a protector of the garden. “Sting a deer!”

shedding styles: re-purpose, relocate
destination: front-yard vegetable garden

Comments welcome … do your projects to simplify sometimes stretch over days? It hardly seems fair, does it?

Leave a Reply

