What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

exhaust tip

on May 22, 2014

Werner von Braun sits in our driveway in front of the garage door. Though in the way of almost everything I want to do, he’s stuck there for now since I seem to have lost his key, and old as he is, he’s nevertheless equipped with a steering lock. Someday this year—I promise myself!—I’ll work through what needs to be done to shed Werner. That may include a short course of therapy. Today, however, without a great deal of angst, I’m letting go of a piece of him.

I was pulling the hose around his rusting brown carcass so I could complete the weekly chore of rinsing out the cats’s litter boxes when the hose hung up. I gave it a firm yank (first recourse for any fix, right? shove, thwack, kick, or jerk it). I was rewarded with a “clunk” and some slack. “What fell?” I wondered.

Werner’s exhaust tip was what. Whereas “exhaust tip” may sound like part of one of the electronic cigarettes gas stations have suddenly become desperate to sell me, it’s not. Rather, it’s a purely decorative tube that attaches to the end of an automobile tailpipe, supposedly to make it look elegant. I don’t care for them. If I put it nicely, I’d say that my modernist “form should follow function” aesthetic finds them superfluous. Not so nicely, I’d say that I think they look stupid. With some satisfaction, I’ll toss the tip in the pile of steel I’m collecting to take to the recycling bin dedicated for it at our county landfill.

20140522-dlj-DSC_7818-e

shedding style: recycle
destination: community recycling stream

Comments welcome … what’s hiding from you in plain sight that you might shed with a righteous self-satisfaction?

Leave a Reply

