What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

rubber tree r.i.p.

on May 27, 2014

An office reorganization resulted in a “rubber tree” relocating to our house several years ago. (This common houseplant isn’t actually a rubber tree, but Ficus elastica, a species of the banyan figs.) We enjoyed it, and it seemed to tolerate our care, because it grew … and grew … till it hit the ceiling. Well, that wasn’t the end, because it could spend the summer out on the deck, and overwinter in the lofty garage.

The unusually cold winter this year chilled the garage below freezing, however, and we lost most of the tender plants sheltering in it. The rubber tree didn’t wake from dormancy. I tried the radical measure of whacking it off just above the lowest leaf-bud, with can sometimes re-start a failing ficus.

It didn’t work. It’s time to release it to the next stage of its life. To the hugelkultur mound it goes to rot in peace.

I guess it's a little late to give the rubber tree a cute name, but if I were to, I'd call it "Stumpy."

I guess it’s a little late to give the rubber tree a cute name, but if I were to, I’d call it “Stumpy.”

shedding style: compost
destination: compost pile

Comments welcome … do you find a freeing simplicity in embracing the cycles that open to life beyond life?

4 responses to “rubber tree r.i.p.

  1. Julie Buhite says:

    :( Regarding the cycles that open to life beyond life, I am nowhere near that advanced. Still, it’s nice to read about someone who is. :)

  2. revdarkwater says:

    Oh, I could hardly claim “advancement”! But re-cycling seems to be part of the nature of nature (smile).

  3. joshdaddy says:

    That is a sad picture, I have to say! My struggle-to-stay-alive avocado tree has yet to spring back, even after a re-potting and lots of TLC. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to try such drastic measures though.

    • revdarkwater says:

      Oh, I wish your avocado well! I regret I didn’t follow through on my thought to try air-layering the ficus last summer. I don’t feel as cavalier about it as perhaps I sound.

Leave a Reply

