What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

starting peppers from seed this season

on May 28, 2014

Seven different varieties … four separate seed packets (two of a six-color-mix) … five distinct trials … dozens of seeds sown … not one viable pepper plant.

20140528-img014

In rather cool and wet Wales, the Snail of Happiness charms capsicums into obeying her every wish and command. And this spring, I’ve mid-wived enough tomato seedlings that I should open an adoption agency to place them. But I can’t start a pepper to save my summer cookery. They fail to sprout. They fall to the dreaded “damping off.” Some predator that can’t be much thicker than a pencil lead lunches on their seed leaves.

I give up. I let go. I accept the way the universe is tilted.

I hope our CSA has a better way with them … it would be a less savory summer without peppers!

shedding style: release

Comments welcome … friends, when is it time to stay stubborn and try, try again, and when to cut our losses and move on?

2 responses to “starting peppers from seed this season

  1. Oh that we lived closer… my tomatoes are always a disaster!

  2. revdarkwater says:

    It would be fun to share! Ah well, I appreciate the trade in ideas!

Leave a Reply

