What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

p.o.t.

on June 21, 2014

I think we’ve been ready for awhile to shed POT. —No, not that kind of pot! Plain Old Telephony, I mean. Once our ISP dropped its requirement that we purchase local telephone service in order to receive DSL, we dropped our land line ASAP. (And yes, I might be exhibiting Acronym Silliness Syndrome.)

Our wall-mounted handset is just the tip of a tech-berg. There’s at least one box marked “telephony” in the home office closet. I see an answering machine on the floor. True, someday we might move somewhere so remote we’d need a dial tone again. But the nearest thrift store would likely equip us. Or I could rig tin cans and strings. For now, however, I’m hanging up the (old school) phone.

Rikki, don't lose that number … call me! 867-5309. Call me maybe? Operator?

Rikki, don’t lose that number … call me! 867-5309. Call me maybe? Operator?

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … did anything above strike you as a little punny?

3 responses to “p.o.t.

  1. We dropped our landline a few months back and I’ve never felt more free! Free from the tyranny of marketing robocalls, charitable (or actually, uncharitable) robocalls and political robocalls. In shedding one POT, we shed sooooo much!

  2. Anne Lene says:

    Oh my gosh, do these things still exist? (Just kidding) I haven’t had a phone handset in my house in like…. forever ;-) (such is the life of a cellphone user) but I do think I have a skypephone somewhere hiding around, one that haven’t been used for years… Hmmmmm, maybe something I should consider shedding… gotta think about that ;-)

Leave a Reply

