What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

ceramic lighthouse

on June 22, 2014

Years ago, friends who loved “collectibles” learned of my affection for the Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, lighthouse and gave me a gift they would have enjoyed themselves. I appreciate their generosity still. But Nimue and I are ready to try keeping very, very few decorative items. This piece should light up for someone it will truly cheer.

Unlike the national landmark it copies, this lighthouse won't require a massive public works project to relocate it away from an eroding shoreline, just in time to be threatened by global sea-level rise. (Whoops, I may have just broken a North Carolina law.)

Unlike the national landmark it copies, the Loften lighthouse won’t require a massive public works project to relocate it away from an eroding shoreline, only to be threatened by global sea-level rise. (Whoops, I may have just broken a North Carolina law.)

I hope he or she will find it on eBay. I’m at the point of “one last try” for the online auction house. I keep hoping to repeat my early experiences there, when it seemed like a virtual yet genuine public square where those who had something to sell and those who wanted to buy it could meet and trade, value for value. Now, however, hitting the site is like going to the mall. There’s so much clutter of advertising and other products between me and my objective that the point seems to be promoting the whole crazy consumerist collective delusion, not providing the social utility of a marketplace. (Well, if the hashtag fits, wear it: #ebaysoldout.)

Rant over. Back to our regularly scheduled shedding.

shedding style: resell
destination: eBay

Comments welcome … do you have someone else’s collectible?

8 responses to “ceramic lighthouse

  1. Mark says:

    Oh I am confident this little treasure will find a good home!

  2. Anne Lene says:

    I’m sure someone will snap it up in no time :-)

  3. Couldn’t agree more about e-bay… have almost given up trying to sell things on it and tend to give stuff away now.

    • revdarkwater says:

      Ditto … when an item fits into a certain special interest niche (like Loften lighthouses, or new old stock Mercedes-Benz diesel engine oil filter cartridges), it seems like eBay could be a good meeting place. But I almost feel I need an attorney on retainer to sell there now.

  4. mom says:

    Might have been a family member who gave it to you. I have one, too!

    • revdarkwater says:

      Yikes! I thought the lighthouse came from former congregants … now am not sure. What I shed that came from family, I don’t intend to shout from the housetops!

  5. mom says:

    Just sayin’…I’m not sure. But there’s one of those in the corner bedroom. It is a good plan not to tell everything. <3

Leave a Reply

