What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

fishing hat

on June 23, 2014

Ten years ago, en-route to the Cumberland Island National Seashore for a week-long backpacking tour of Georgia’s largest barrier island, I realized that I’d forgotten to pack my sun hat. Though the month was October, I reasonably expected a lot of UV exposure. So I bought a temporary solution in one of the small towns near the coast, in a sporting goods section near rods and reels, as I recall.

The fishing hat served well enough for that week. But I’ve never worn it since; if I want solar shelter, I reach for my true sun hat with a comically wide brim and skirt that covers my neck. I’ve started feeling sorry for the fishing hat. Ten years is too long for a potentially useful object to sit on a shelf. Thrift store, here it comes!

Doesn't it make you feel the lure of sun and surf?

Doesn’t it make you feel the lure of sun and surf?

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … have you anything acquired for a special use that’s uselessly hanging around?

Leave a Reply

