What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

bottle opener collection

on July 2, 2014

We’re inventorying our camping equipment, looking for what needs cleaning or repair and what can be shed. In one of the “car camping” bags, I found a “church key” bottle opener and a butterfly corkscrew. (Okay, we don’t drink water only on car-camping trips. Who knows when we might happen on an old country store with a cooler full of vintage Royal Crown Cola?) Weight and bulk aren’t such a factor when the load isn’t on our backs or bike, but a “waiter’s friend” can replace both. Less is more!

Then I remembered the three additional church keys cluttering a shelf in the garage, about which I’d thought “They might be collectible … better hang onto them till I can research that.” Sheesh. The whole lot goes to the thrift store.

My favorite is the milk bottle opener on the lower right.

My favorite is the milk can opener on the lower right. Methinks that notch slightly compromises its wholesomeness.

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … do your bottle openers breed in the dark of drawers?

One response to “bottle opener collection

  1. […] I mentioned in Wednesday’s post, Nimue and I have been gathering our camping equipment from the four corners of the house and […]

Leave a Reply

