What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

spice mix

on July 3, 2014

At Christmas a couple years ago Nimue’s uncle and aunt gave us some special spices; I think they were all “rubs” of one sort or another. We don’t roast much meat because we seldom buy it, but we found other ways to enjoy the seasonings in soups and sauces. Somehow the last of the jars got overlooked till it was likely past its peak of flavor. When I uncovered it recently, I thought I’d finish it off as a shed.

I wanted to make a crunchy chickpea snack a friend once raved over. I cooked a pound of dried chickpeas the usual way, drained them, drizzled on some olive oil, stirred in the “rub” (there were perhaps three tablespoons of that), and spread them on our pizza stone to roast at 400°F. After 20 minutes, I started checking them every five. At half an hour, they still had soft centers. At forty, most were just right, but I thought five more minutes might finish toasting the whole batch.

I wonder what my crunchy chickpeas would measure on the Rockwell hardness scale.

I wonder what my crunchy chickpeas would measure on the Rockwell hardness scale.

That was five minutes too long, especially since I think they continued to dry out after I got them away from the heat. My chickpeas feel and taste quite like popcorn kernels that never popped—they aren’t any good, but one’s fingers keep probing the bottom of the bowl for them anyway. Nimue swears, however, that she won’t risk a crown trying to turn stones into nourishment. So, confident that what rehydrated and dehydrated can hydrate yet again, I’m now trying to conceive a recipe for a “blackened chickpea curry.” However that turns out, I count the spice mix and its jar as shed.

shedding style: use up, recycle
destination: community recycling stream

Comments welcome … what spices lurk in the depths of your pantry that might help you express your inner mad scientist?

5 responses to “spice mix

  1. Anne Lene says:

    Hi, I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award! I really like your site and wanted to share you with my readers, so I just couldn’t help myself :-) Here is a link to the post about your nomination. Accepting is off course completely voluntarily :-) http://minimalistsometimes.com/2014/07/04/sunshine-award/

  2. mom says:

    I put old spices in compost……If they sprout, more compost. The jars are great for dried
    parsley and basil and, whatever. It’s a fight with the devil, though, to get the old labels off most jars.

  3. nrhatch says:

    Sorry your experiment didn’t work out. I’m all for using up items, but wouldn’t want to crack a tooth to save a toss.

    I’m here via Anne’s Sunshine Awards.

Leave a Reply

