What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

whistle and whisk

on July 4, 2014

I hope to keep this brief; I sliced a forefinger on a pocketknife I sharpened earlier this evening, and the band-aid handicaps my typing. Also, it really doesn’t want to stop bleeding, and my keyboard’s disgusting enough already with coffee stains and spills of too many meals eaten at the computer.

As I mentioned in Wednesday’s post, Nimue and I have been gathering our camping equipment from the four corners of the house and garage to which it’s spread so we can clean and care for it and identify what we might give up. I thought we had a lot of gear, and though of course “lots” and “less” are relative, I suppose compared to many households we do … but there’s less than I’d expected.

Some reasons why, I see, are: 1) we don’t buy on impulse, but research and choose carefully; 2) we purchase only high-quality equipment, and try to take good care of it; 3) a lot of our gear does double- and triple-duty for different kinds of camping; and 4) I leaned toward ultra-light attitudes and approaches back before the UL buzz. Nimue has convinced me that, when car-camping, pancakes make a much better breakfast than cold water from a canteen poured over granola pre-mixed with powered milk, but our campsites still look more minimalist than like we moved a McMansion into the woods.

Thus, all I could find to join the extra Sierra cup were a little whisk (cute, but I’m already carrying a fork, which stirs as well and cleans up more easily) and my original emergency whistle. It’s a nice one, British-made of nickle-plated brass, but weighs perceptibly more than our others. In impartial testing, all three whistles were able to equally alarm Muffin. (Sorry, kitty!) Lighter is better, so “The Acme Thunderer” goes in the give-away box.

One I've used but didn't need, the other needed but never used ... which is which?

One I’ve used but didn’t need, the other needed but never used … which is which?

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … where might your practices already be “lighter” than you’d credit yourself for?

Leave a Reply

