What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

final filling

on July 9, 2014

An era ended today … I couldn’t pull another pen-full out of my last bottle of Levenger fountain pen ink.

A Parker 45 I bought in the UK for £2, a Lamy Safari that cost about $30, and bottle of ink, currently on sale for $10 + shipping from Levenger ... using a fountain pen doesn't have to be expensive.

A Parker 45 I bought in the UK for £2, a Lamy Safari that cost about $30, and bottle of ink, currently on sale for $10 + shipping from Levenger … using a fountain pen doesn’t have to be conspicuously consumptive.

I think I’ve had Levenger ink of one color or another (up to as many as seven) for over ten years, perhaps longer. I’ve especially loved “Cobalt Blue.” Though I posted about some problems with three Levenger inks here and here, I still think it’s a good product. One day I may order some again. But for now I’ll be writing with inks less self-consciously upper-class (and more economical), the old school standards of Parker Quink and Sheaffer Skrip.

shedding style: use up, recycle
destination: community recycling stream

Comments welcome … when is the average, the everyday, the unfashionable, good enough?

5 responses to “final filling

  1. Julie Buhite says:

    Answer: Almost always, in my book. Makes me think how there is no feel like that of a treasured book and that of paper and pen to write with — ok, and crayons to make sure the important stuff gets highlighted and sticks out. :)

    • revdarkwater says:

      Crayons! I need to give them more of a try. More good low-tech! (smile)

      • Julie Buhite says:

        There is no joy like highlighting in crayon and determining which color best suits the highlight in the moment. That way there’s no need to experience the letdown when a highlighter dries up, nor the dilemma of having to throw the highlighter away and being pretty sure it’s not recyclable NOR the thought of being limited to pink, yellow, green and blue. :)

  2. Anne Lene says:

    It’s been a long time since I wrote with a fountain pen, I used to have a really nice one to, and your post put me back in time reminiscing over how it felt in the hand, how you had to hold it just right to give the perfect flow of ink, how not to rest the pen to long on the papers or it would create “blobs”, how I at times ended up with ink all over my fingers (yeah when I was young and just learning to use such a pen)… Oh memories, such memories. ;-)

Leave a Reply

