What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

the dust on brewser, marie and me

on July 13, 2014

For awhile now, Brewser and Marie have been gathering dust in a storage room at church. Marie went there so Nimue could practice handling her in the quiet of the parking lot. (The bike she learned to ride on when she was young lacked the complexity of shift levers, dérailleurs, chain rings, cogs, hand brakes, and pedals with toe clips.) Brewser joined her because he’s too big to be real—we just didn’t have room to park him at the house. Our intentions to ride there, however, haven’t gotten us on their saddles.

Marie is a mid-1980s Peugeot UE-18, rescued from a decrepit state and built up to be Nimue's commuter bike. Brewser is a 2012 New Belgium Fat Tire Cruiser I won in a contest.

Marie de France is a mid-1980s Peugeot UE-18, rescued from a decrepit state and built up to be Nimue’s commuter bike. Brewser is a 2012 New Belgium Fat Tire Cruiser I won in a contest.

But this evening, at last, we began Nimue’s training with Marie. I anticipated that going around in the same circle, loop after loop, would feel a little lame. Instead I enjoyed how relaxed it was, with no traffic, no destination, just pedaling and pointing the front wheel where I wanted to go. I remembered doing the same when I was a kid, tracking the same oval in the driveway for hours, till knowing how to ride a bike sank down deep into my muscles. It felt like floating back then. It still does. I’m grateful to have blown the dust off that memory.

shedding style: remember, reclaim

Comments welcome … what dusty joy might you recover in doing something you’ve loved but left behind?

2 responses to “the dust on brewser, marie and me

  1. nrhatch says:

    When we moved to Florida 5 years ago, we started riding bikes again and love the feeling of flying. Wheeeee!

Leave a Reply

