What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

aids to organization

on July 14, 2014

My craigslist ad says: “Two file crates, a shelf basket, and a refrigerator freezer’s ice drawer. They aren’t particularly clean at present, but with some soap and scrubbing, they could be.”

More items left behind by previous occupants of our house ... we want to shed more deliberately than that!

More items left behind by previous occupants of our house … we want to shed more deliberately than that!

They were emptied by our simplifying and decluttering, thus freeing them to be shed … we’re getting secondary effects now!

I don’t want to sell these items, just give them away, so I listed them under the “free stuff” category. It’s my first trial of that particular means of shedding. My hopes for a good outcome and reservations about the forum are about equal … my ad is keeping company with a lot of free kittens and offers of “free firewood, you cut, clear and haul.” Stay tuned; I’ll report in comments!

shedding style: give away
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … are any of your changes leading to changes?

13 responses to “aids to organization

  1. joshdaddy says:

    I have three wooden apple crates that I have toted around with me for the past two decades. Thanks for reminding me–it’s probably time to let go of these “aids to organization.”

  2. Your inanimate crates and basket are a lot less hassle than free kittens and firewood to cut, clear and haul. Best of luck.

  3. Julie Buhite says:

    Great idea! Keep us tuned in.

  4. nrhatch says:

    Well . . . we shed the sofa yesterday. yay! My niece said it’s more comfortable than the one her previous roommate had contributed to the crib.

    Good luck shedding your freebies.

  5. revdarkwater says:

    Congrats! I don’t discount little sheds, but don’t we love a big one!

  6. revdarkwater says:

    As offered, the update: a sociable young man named Ryan just picked them up. His hair looked as long as mine in my twenties … all kinds of things get recycled, don’t they?

  7. Anne Lene says:

    Maybe I should take you lead, now that I have cleared out a bit if stuff, I’m also left with a bunch of “empties”, that I haven’t quite decided what to do with yet!

    I think I’ll hold on to some of them, until I’ve decluttered more, since I also tend to reorganise while I declutter. But some can go, bye, bye…

  8. mcrivelli says:

    I wanted to let you know that you helped motivate me to declutter my junk drawers in my kitchen. Thank you. I referenced your blog in my own.

    Thanks again,
    Mary

  9. […] But one of the sashes in the stack has lost its lights. (“Light” is window-speak for a window pane.) It’s no use to me, but I have a sense that crafty people find clever ways to decorate with them. I’ll offer it up in the “free stuff” category on craigslist. It worked last time! […]

  10. […] Poe’s purloined letter, the third of the set of file crates I began shedding in “aids to organization” has been hiding in more-or-less plain sight, in the fireplace where we’ve stacked supplies […]

Leave a Reply

