What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

foam packing peanuts 2

on July 17, 2014

During some decluttering in the garage, I found another cache of foam packing peanuts. I have no idea when I bagged them. But I know the day I made the best of my bad choices and took them to the shipping franchise which says it will re-use them: today!

I’ve decided, though, that in future, if I shed anything through eBay, I’ll pack it in shredded paper, and enclose a friendly note requesting that the materials be re-used, recycled, or composted.

Salt doesn't improve them a bit.

Salt doesn’t improve them a bit.

shedding style: give away, re-use
destination: UPS store

Comments welcome … isn’t it odd that we lend the names of natural things (like popcorn and peanuts) to un-natural offenses against nature (like styrofoam packing materials)?

6 responses to “foam packing peanuts 2

  1. Julie Buhite says:

    “Salt doesn’t improve them a bit.” It took me about seven seconds to get your peanuts joke. It’s gonna be a golden day.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Really? UPS accepts donations of peanuts for re-use?

  3. revdarkwater says:

    Most “UPS Store” locations will, if the materials are clean. They are franchise operations, though, so policies may vary.

  4. 2fru says:

    In addition to shipping stores, many local gift basket shops will take clean packaging. =)

Leave a Reply

