What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

compact tabletop ironing board

on August 10, 2014

A few years ago the requirements of our work led to keeping two households, an apartment in metro Atlanta and a house in the city we still live in. We furnished them simply, but nevertheless wound up with two queen-sized beds, two table settings, two sets of cookware, and two of pretty much everything this anglo, middle-class, first-worlder thought life required. Some of that excess we’ve since shed, but a fair amount we kept because it’s not absurd to be prepared should we find ourselves doing it again.

On the other hand, we’re weary of that “maybe,” when we’re certain that we don’t need those extras and our accounting of wants has lost a lot of footprint. So one of our current simplifying projects is checking the “interim apartment” boxes before consigning most of their contents to craigslist or the thrift stores.

From that collection comes this little ironing board. I’m a little embarrassed that I never even ripped the shrink-wrap off it. But after I bought it for the apartment, Nimue reminded me that she used an iron less often than the US elects Presidents, so our full-sized board might as well reside with me.

compact ironing board, anterior and posterior

compact ironing board, anterior and posterior

I wrestled a bit about which of the two should stay and which should go.The compact board appeals because it fits with our vision of life in a small house that grows clearer every day. On the other hand, I’ve known our large ironing board all my life—my parents started their housekeeping with it, I believe. I can get rather ruthless about shedding, but I’m not cold enough yet to jettison such old friends.

Nimue solved my dilemma: “They’d take up the same width on a wall,” she said. Out with the new, then. I’ll try to sell it on craigslist.

shedding style: resell
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … with grateful apologies to Christopher D. Stone … do long-held vintage items have standing?

5 responses to “compact tabletop ironing board

  1. […] don’t remember when or how we acquired the one on the right, but it recently emerged from an interim apartment box. Since simplifying has made it a given we’ll keep one and shed the other … which should […]

  2. Jo says:

    Long-held vintage items do have standing. Husband’s items not so much. And if you discover they really don’t you can always get rid of them. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

  3. […] another shed from the interim apartment I kept for awhile. It had a nice kitchen, but, curiously, no place to hang a kitchen towel. […]

  4. […] fork and spoon specifically for salad; our bamboo cooking spoons are the same size. One of my interim apartment boxes contributed a few of the “extras,” including yet another bottle opener … evidently I […]

Leave a Reply

