What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

left-handed bread knife

on August 11, 2014

Here are two bread knives, one with serrations on the left side of its blade, the other with them on its right:

left- and right-handed bread knives ... that poor loaf doesn't stand a chance

left- and right-handed bread knives … that poor loaf doesn’t stand a chance

We’ve used the knife on the left for years. I don’t remember when or how we acquired the one on the right, but it recently emerged from an interim apartment box. Since simplifying has made it a given we’ll keep one and shed the other … which should stay and which should go?

And why do two otherwise very similar knives differ so? Nimue, ever-ready to do a little research, found that on which side the serrations are placed varies by manufacturer, but people who slice a lot of bread seem to think that, if the serrations face the loaf, it’s easier to saw straight cuts. So if you’re left-handed, you want a bread knife with serrations on the right, and if right-handed, on the left.

This deserves an empirical trial, we thought, so we baked a loaf and Nimue (who’s right-handed, as am I) attacked it with each in turn. It’s hard to quantify a subjective sense, but she thought she cut more straightly with the “right-handed” knife. So that’s the one we’ll keep. We’ll offer the other to a lefty friend.

shedding style: give away
destination: someone else’s knife drawer

Comments welcome … are you itching to check on which side of their blades your knives are serrated?

4 responses to “left-handed bread knife

  1. mcrivelli says:

    Today I shed a box of items that I will drop off to the Goodwill tomorrow. In the box was a couple vases, some shot glasses, ceramic knickknack / chochky type items, and some books that were in bad yet readable condition. My goal this week is to take a box of items every day to the Goodwill. Thank you for your continued inspiration. :)

  2. Mark says:

    Huh. I hate to admit it, given the amount of time I’ve spent in the kitchen cooking, but I never noticed whether or not I have left- and right-handed serrated knives. If I do, perhaps (as a lefty) I can expand your sample pool with my own experiment!

  3. revdarkwater says:

    I felt the same: “Huh, why haven’t I been more attentive to this detail?” We’ll look forward to hearing your results!

Leave a Reply

