What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

shaving mug and brush

on August 19, 2014

We tackled the space we call the “dressing room” today. It’s the room between our bedroom and the bath with a sink, so that’s where our personal care products are stored and used. Brushes and combs; toothbrushes, toothpaste, and floss; that cycling essential: sunscreen; band-aids and moleskin … anything from a pharmacy, we put in that room. My razor’s there, because that’s where I usually shave.

We shed a lot of stuff, mostly unopened “sample” sizes of products we’ll give to a local food bank, but also some items we don’t use anymore. Among those are my shaving mug and brush. I’ve had them from my mid-twenties, and for decades using them to whip up a lather was about the only step in the ritual of shaving I enjoyed (besides feeling smooth afterward). But a few years ago I switched to lathering up right on my beard. It takes less time and makes less mess, and I get the same result in the end. Both brush and mug are cracked, so neither is in good enough shape to give away. I realized I’ve been keeping them so I wouldn’t have to throw them away. Zero waste is a good goal, but a poor end in itself. It’s time to let go.

mug shot

mug shot

shedding style: throw away
destination: municipal landfill

Comments welcome … have you let yourself stop keeping something so you wouldn’t have to throw it away?

Leave a Reply

