What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

mixed lot of kitchen utentils

on August 24, 2014

We’ve purged our way through the kitchen more than once, but another pass yielded a few more candidates for shedding. Two are special-purpose items we almost never use, and we reason we could make do quite acceptably with everyday items. We don’t need a wooden fork and spoon specifically for salad; our bamboo cooking spoons are the same size. One of my interim apartment boxes contributed a few of the “extras,” including yet another bottle opener … evidently I could do a blog just about shedding those. And there’s a basket. It’s nice; it looks kind of like a watermelon. It’s supposed to, I think. I like baskets, but I rarely know what to do with them. Off to the thrift store it all goes.

20140824-dlj-DSC_8002-e

shedding style: give away
destination: thrift store

Comments welcome … where you’ve shed some stuff already, might you cut deeper?

6 responses to “mixed lot of kitchen utentils

  1. We have three wine decanters in our dresser… the only reason I haven’t got rid
    of them was not knowing how to transport them to the charity shop without risk of breakage. However, last week we received a parcel with the contents all carefully bubble-wrapped and with those corn-starch packing peanut, so now I see a way forward…

  2. Anne Lene says:

    I find I do the same, cut a little deeper second or third time around :-) I think it is, as we go along our declutter path, we realise we need less and less.

    • revdarkwater says:

      A. (= Nimue), agreeing with your comment, says the first time through separates what we haven’t used from what we “might” use. The second (or third) identifies what we do use and releases the rest.

  3. lizhull says:

    There ALWAYS seems to be more to purge from the kitchen no matter how many times I have done it. I think they mate when we aren’t looking…

Leave a Reply

