What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

no-shed holiday

on September 1, 2014

Today was Labor Day in the United States, when we honor those who built what we all enjoy with their backs and hands as well as their minds. (Well, those of us celebrate it who comprehend how honorable that labor was and is.)

I can’t claim anything I shed. I didn’t cross off what I thought was my top item on my to-do list (continuing some drywall repairs in my father’s bathroom), but I did change the batteries in his talking watch and re-program it … and “help my parents with what they want done” was really my top to-do. I didn’t sing “Solidarity Forever,” as I usually do on May Day and Labor Day, but that wasn’t a shed either; I just forgot.

In our hands is placed a power greater than their hoarded gold
Greater than the might of armies magnified a thousandfold
We can bring to birth a new world from the ashes of the old
For the Union makes us strong

I did marvel at moths and bumblebees feeding on yellow crownbeard (Verbesina occidentalis) growing along Jockey Creek and appreciated the mostly-unwitnessed labors of pollinators. All of us who like to eat grains and fruits depend on them. They don’t take a holiday, yet “holy” is what I’d call all their work. Somehow they helped me appreciate my holiday a little more, and to re-commit to my most important work: cooperation toward the greater good of all.

Leave a Reply

