What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

double-hung sash windows

on September 3, 2014

I love treehouses, from those that kids bang together of scrap lumber to “tiny houses” equipped to live in. I dream of having something in-between, a writer’s retreat that’s weatherproof and inviting enough for a day or night, without the complications of wiring and plumbing. When a camp and conference center I support was remodeling a lodge a few years ago and replaced some of the windows, I offered to buy a couple for my eventual arboreal nest. I kept them in a basement for awhile, then moved them to my Dad’s “hill barn,” where they’ve been ever since.

But I don’t want to stockpile for “maybe someday” anymore. I trust that, if I do eventually bang that treehouse together, I’ll find what I need for it then. I listed the windows on craigslist today so maybe someone else can build an outbuilding, garage, playhouse … or, even, home-tree-home.

20140903-dlj-DSC_8028-e

shedding style: release, resell
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … for me, it’s often a growing weariness with my weight in the world; what helps you open a window on living today?

6 responses to “double-hung sash windows

  1. […] blog called What I shed today is a great down to earth daily note about what they got rid of, why and what they did with it. I can […]

  2. Karyl says:

    I am famous for holding onto things for a someday craft or project. Thanks for the inspiration to stop!

  3. […] I embraced a spur-of-the-moment shed. Clairie and her friend came to look at the double-hung sash windows I have posted to craigslist. Full windows in frames weren’t really what they wanted, though; […]

Leave a Reply

