What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

rotating pegboard stock display stand

on September 4, 2014

Loganville, Georgia, ca. 1999: my favorite auto parts store was getting a remodel for the new millennium. Fortunately for their customers, they stayed open through the project. Leaving there one day, I passed the dumpster into which it appeared half the store had been discarded, turned about and walked back inside. “Hey,” I said. (That’s a polite greeting in the American South.) “There’s a display stand in your dumpster. Do you mind if I take it?”

The manager said, “Just don’t hurt yourself climbing in and out.” (He had no idea what a veteran dumpster-diver I was.) I wrestled the stand free and wedged as much of it as I could in the trunk of my K-car, then went back to hunt through debris for the pegboard hooks. Visions of organization danced in my head. Even that long ago, screws and anchors, gaskets, auto lamps, tubes of cement, and dozens of other items I purchased at the hardware or auto parts store all came in the plural in blister packs. I’d use the one or two I needed and be left with the spares. They’d be a lot easier to manage on a pegboard than in a box, I reasoned.

And I was right. The display stand served as my own little hardware store for years, until it went into exile in my Dad’s “hill barn.” Earlier this week, I finally retrieved it. But though it was a good tool, I won’t set it up in my overcrowded garage. I can’t afford right now to give it even the modest four square feet of floor it needs. That’s the price of a shrinking footprint. Before I sort through my collection of blister-packed parts, however, I may screw a pegboard to the wall!

"Turn, turn, turn ..."

“Turn, turn, turn …”

shedding style: resell
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … do you have anything that’s just too big?

2 responses to “rotating pegboard stock display stand

  1. Mark says:

    Pegboard wall sounds like a good idea!

  2. revdarkwater says:

    We had six square feet of pegboard in a tiny kitchen in a house we rented once. We amazed ourselves with what we could get up there. I told myself I’d do that in a kitchen again, but I haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

