What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

window sashes

on September 12, 2014

Today I embraced a spur-of-the-moment shed. Clairie and her friend came to look at the double-hung sash windows I have posted to craigslist. Full windows in frames weren’t really what they wanted, though; they hoped to decorate with sashes alone.

“The previous owner of this house left some of those in the crawlspace,” I said. “Would you like to take a look?” Yes, they said, and upon deliberation thought they’d do. How much did I want? “Oh, I’m running a three-for-one special today,” I said cheerfully. “One dollar.”

“Are you sure?” Claire asked uncertainly. I assured her I was. “I like to ask something,” I explained. “That way whoever is taking something has some investment in it. But it’s a symbol. It doesn’t have to be much. And you’re helping me lighten up.”

So three sashes, with glass intact, are gone. I’d planned to build a coldframe with those, but I don’t mind letting that project go so I can use the time it would have absorbed for another.

shedding style: release, resell

Comments welcome … do you agree that if you’re confident of what you’re working toward, you can decide in a hurry?

2 responses to “window sashes

  1. Mark says:

    I swear, some of your shed photos look like amazing installation art pieces!

  2. revdarkwater says:

    (Chuckle!) I’m going to leave that up for a few days, for the visual interest.

Leave a Reply

