What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

leaving

on October 3, 2014

I had a wedding rehearsal at Frogtown Cellars this afternoon, which required driving about 70 miles across the north Georgia piedmont. I tried to spend the time attending to the signs of autumn. Goldenrod and yellow crownbeard were the most obvious, rioting by the roadsides in golden sprays. Dogwoods are darkening, and some cherries have lit up, but the leaves on most of the trees aren’t quite turning yet. Still, looking across the hills and valleys, under the green I can begin to guess the colors the leaves will be.

In the vineyard, however, some grape leaves gave me every aesthetic gratification I sought.

20141003-dlj-17.11.29

Leaves have something to teach me, I sense, about letting go. They don’t try to hang on too long, and they may wear their greater beauty in chance and change. Soon enough I’ll be seeing them fall. Or should I say, riding the winds? Or even—shall I dare the suggestion? dancing with partners I cannot see?

shedding style: release

Comments welcome … shall we dance?

2 responses to “leaving

  1. You’ve learned the lessons from leaves already. Wonderful photograph.

Leave a Reply

