What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

staling

on October 15, 2014

Lately I’ve been feeling stale. Every morning for breakfast I make a frittata. (That’s because the gardens grow greens at an exponentially increasing rate, and frittatas at least arithmetically reduce the supply.) Every evening I can’t decide what to make for dinner. In between, what I do doesn’t seem to make much of a difference, or promise to.

I want to quit this staling. Often going stale is a choice I make, or comes from how I frame my choices.

Maybe it begins as easily as embracing that, in part, I am what I eat. And in that, I am blessed. I just cut up a North Carolina apple, a gift of a friend, and shared pieces with Nimue as she drives and I write and think. It was as fine as fine wine. Before we left home, lunch was eggplant parmesan panini. For breakfast we finished off some red cabbage and white bean soup with sage … atypical morning fare, but satisfying.

I really don’t know why I should be dissatisfied with my life. So why not shed that today? Mother Earth feeds me well. I’m in the Blue Ridge in October, where mists dance with light aflame in leaves.

20141015-dlj-17.36.22-e

Tomorrow, perhaps, I’ll feel a freshening.

shedding style: re-think

Comments, as always, welcome …

6 responses to “staling

  1. Mark says:

    May the mountain air refresh you, my friend. And it looks like your timing is good too–the rain has stopped, and the sun is on its way.

  2. How well I know the problem – food has been a real issue for me over recent weeks as I learn once again to enjoy a meal alone rather than as a social event.
    Have a lovely time in the Blue Ridge – a place I would dearly like to visit.

Leave a Reply

