What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

trashcans, part one

on November 19, 2014

I’m working through a generous serving of chagrin as I realize how much stuff I’ve acquired by moving into houses where it was left behind by the previous occupants. The almond plastic trashcan that looks like it could be R2D2’s stunted cousin is an example. I should have left it in the bathroom in which I found it, where it complemented the 1950s brown ceramic tile on the walls and floor.

I bought the stainless steel wastebasket in a fit of wanting materials more permanent than plastic. But the lid-lifting mechanism is fussy and it’s been a challenge to keep clean. I’ve gotten past longing for a sports car in the garage; neither do I want one in the kitchen.

If they won’t sell bundled together for $5  on craigslist, I’ll take them to the thrift store.

I've noticed our trashcan capacity shrinking as our recycling bins multiply.

I’ve noticed our trashcan capacity shrinking as our recycling bins multiply.

shedding style: resell
destination: craigslist

Comments welcome … do you find that recycling bins are a necessity but wastebaskets an accessory?

One response to “trashcans, part one

Leave a Reply

