What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

crayons

on November 28, 2014

Fourteen years ago, on a trip to Kansas City, Missouri, Nimue and I visited the Crayola Cafe and Crayola Store. We came away with a serious box of crayons. I liked it because it reminded me of the cigar boxes in which I kept treasures when I was a kid. They spoke to Nimue because the child in her heart dreams of drawing, painting, and generally making art.

20141128-dlj-23.24.11-e

But not one of the 120 colors has been put on paper in a waxy trail. The crayons still have all their sharp, fresh-from-the-factory edges. They haven’t even lost their new crayon smell. I felt sad when Nimue said, “If I haven’t used them in 14 years, I’m not likely to now.” But I respect her right to shed. We took them to my family Thanksgiving gathering to offer them to our artsy nieces.

Wonderniece the Sequel said they have a tub of crayons big enough to bathe in. She graciously declined to take any more. Bless her, she shares our values.

So back to Casa de WIST the crayons came today. Next I’ll try to present them to a friend who’s a middle school art teacher. Most of her students get free or reduced-cost school lunches. I think maybe they’d like to have some new crayons, even if they’re 14 years old.

shedding style: give away
destination: art classroom

Comments welcome … are you ever surprised at how much grieving the process of simplifying demands?

2 responses to “crayons

  1. Mark says:

    You know I am not one to suggest Craigslist… but I have a feeling that mint condition box (with a wizard and a dragon on it!) would be someone’s crayon dream come true!

Leave a Reply

