What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

+ persimmons

on December 3, 2014

I didn’t shed anything today, but in the late afternoon I went for a walk. To stay whole, I need regular visits with the wide world spread under the sky. Across the highway and past the old B & M Milling Company mill, good views of the mountains open up. They were blue at that hour, reserved and removed. I followed Jockey Creek to its mouth at Big Limestone Creek. The waters flow on to the Nolichucky River, but I turned away onto a road that jumps up onto a low ridge. Across from the little geodesic dome house at its crest grow some American persimmon trees (Diospyros virginiana). I like to visit them in autumn after a few frosts. It looked like they’ve had a good year; lots of flat brown seeds lay by the road. I didn’t see any fruits, though.

I walked along the slowly descending road to another that leads back toward home. Just beyond the railroad crossing, my eyes fell on orange and blue-purple fruits on the ground: persimmons! I’d forgotten that particular tree. I ate two and gathered a handful.

A ripe persimmon is a little scary on a first trial, because it looks and feels like it might have gotten a step too close to spoiled. But each is a bite-sized custard that tastes subtly sweet and of the earth. I’d felt a bit depleted when I set out. I returned nourished on sunshine, rain, and old, old hills.

Mom says if you open a persimmon seed, you may find a picture of a fork, knife, or spoon. A fork predicts a mild winter, a knife a cold and icy trial, and a spoon lots of snow to shovel.

Mom says if you open a persimmon seed, you may find a picture of a fork, knife, or spoon. A fork predicts a mild winter, a knife a cold and icy trial, and a spoon lots of snow to shovel.

Comments welcome … what have you found in a fruit?

Leave a Reply

