What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– Dad’s ties

on December 28, 2014

I could not, would not chide my departed Dad for having 43 ties. A terrestrial life of 91 years crosses a lot of Father’s Days (an occasion for gift-giving on the third Sunday of June in the US). I’m personally responsible for at least a few in his collection, and I’m touched that he kept the especially extra-wide and eye-popping one ca. 1973.

Nimue laid them out grouped by patterns, paisleys, stripes, solids, and textures. I think every male scion and one female took at least one tie except me … I have enough of my own to thin. The rest went to Opportunity House.

Dad's ties before sons, daughter, son-in-law, and grandsons made their choices. I think youngster Ethan is using his as a bookmark ... hey, why not?

Dad’s ties before sons, daughter, son-in-law, and grandsons made their choices. I think youngster Ethan is using his as a bookmark … hey, why not?

shedding style: give away
destination: Opportunity House

Comments welcome … when you tie one on, do you have more than enough options from which to chose?

Leave a Reply

