What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– corn planter box

on January 5, 2015

The previous owner of our house left a curiosity beside the garage where the trash cans sit: an open steel box. It has remained there because I couldn’t think of anything better to do with it, though I tried. It seemed like something I ought to do something clever with, like organize things in. (Ah, but what “things”?) Or fill with plants in pots. (But our pet plants are perfectly happy sitting out where they get some air.)

The box is constructed of galvanized steel. It has two bail handles and a hole with a nipple at the bottom of one end. I thought it was the ice compartment out of an old icebox, but when I took a closer look today I found lettering on one side that says, in part, “Holden’s Ideal Corn Planter” and “Des Moines.” So it’s a piece of an old seed corn planter. I’m glad to know that, but I still can’t think of anything to do with it, except pass it along to someone who can via craigslist.

20150105-dlj-12.26.05-e

shedding style: resell
destination: a home that uses pinterest

Comments welcome … have you ever had part of someone else’s project hanging around cluttering your space?

6 responses to “– corn planter box

  1. LOL–my husband’s! Glad to see you back in 2015 and that you’re still shedding.

  2. Mark says:

    What an odd and cool thing! An easy shed, and perhaps soon to be someone’s treasure?

    • revdarkwater says:

      It would be interesting to know where and when it was used. Bicycles, now, are sentient and sometimes tell me their stories, but the planter box remains mute. Or perhaps, though I grew up in field corn country, I just don’t speak Implement.

  3. Anne Lene says:

    Dang it! Why aren’t you living in Norway, I could USE that (read; make it fit really nice) in my garden…..

Leave a Reply

