What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– gourd, + birdhouse

on March 26, 2016

Unfinished projects weigh on me as much or more than “stuff,” so I count their completion as a shed. This one has a happy power to make me smile.

20160325-dlj-DSC_8232-e

I don’t remember how many years I’ve been storing this gourd on a succession of shelves, nor how it came into my keeping. But I’ve always meant to turn it into a birdhouse. It took only an hour of yesterday, half of that pleasant research, during which I learned some about the needs and preferences of cavity-nesting birds. The entry hole is larger than most species like, but that’s how it broke under my grandfather’s old brace and bit. I hope some nesting pair will enjoy a large front door. The dull color I sprayed it isn’t imaginative, but the intended tenants prefer earth tones for their homes. It’s they, after all, who will provide the flash and spark of life.

shedding style: complete
destination: a white oak we can see from our table

Comments welcome … it can be such a gift to finish something; why are we sometimes so stingy and withhold it from ourselves?

One response to “– gourd, + birdhouse

  1. revdarkwater says:

    Oh dear, I’d assumed that was virginia creeper, Parthenocissus quinquefolia, climbing that trunk, but now I see it may be Toxicodendron radicans, poison ivy. Sigh, add another project to the list….

Leave a Reply

