What I Shed Today

lightening up a little at a time

– new year’s duck

on January 1, 2017

After a long hiatus of posting, we’re back, or at least shall try to be. ‘Nuff said about that.

Three autumns ago, as the winter holidays approached, I saw ducks in a freezer case at our Aldi. A vision of browned, glistening fowl ringed with roasted red potatoes, rutabagas, carrots, parsnips, carrots, brussels sprouts, and onions danced before me. The rich, warm smells wafted out of memory. It felt like Thanksgiving, Winter Solstice, Christmas and New Year’s all at once.

I bought a duck. And brought it home and put it in our freezer, because it wasn’t quite the holidays yet.

Holidays being busy as they are, the duck stayed there, because it just never seemed to fit into plans. Oh well, we can enjoy it anytime, I reasoned. Maybe I’ll even rig a rotisserie and roast it over coals outdoors. Maybe we’ll have Christmas in July.

Instead, the duck starred in its own one-bird version of Frozen, which had a very long stand. It played to a packed house of ice cubes, pizzas, my bank of saved seeds, cans of juice concentrate, and the ever-changing contents of our broth bag. But, former theater person that she is, Nimue knows that every production must eventually come to a close. Not another year, she insisted. The duck finally had to roast.

It came out a little tough and a lot strong. We enjoyed the red potatoes and wedges of cabbage I made to accompany it more than the meat. But I’ve taken the first step, committed the essential initial act, and often I like what I do with leftover fowl better than its first appearance on our plates. Hummm, homemade noodles with diced duck in a soup … barley and veggie stew in duck broth … but first, something Chinese.…

post-dinner duck, ready for refrigeration

post-dinner duck, ready to return to refrigeration

shedding style: use up
destination: pleased palates (I hope)

Comments welcome … has anything abandoned all hope in your freezer?

5 responses to “– new year’s duck

  1. Welcome back! I’ve missed you.

    • revdarkwater says:

      Thanks! I’ve had the motivation to resume for awhile (I find I have my little bit to say, however small it is), but it’s been a challenge to work back into daily routines. The turn of the year made a good hook to hang the effort on.

  2. […] been cooking today at Casa de WIST? The duck made its second appearance, this time as Peking Duck (with guidance from the infallible Jamie […]

  3. […] duck didn’t appear on today’s menus, though I sauteed its liver with onions and made a […]

  4. […] duck returned tonight with homemade noodles in a soup. I think it’s getting better and […]

Leave a Reply

